My Famous Ranch Dressing

It really is famous! Ranch

Maybe the above statement is somewhat hyperbolic, but if you have had my ranch dressing, you know what’s up.  About five people have asked me for the recipe in the last week, so I thought I’d post it here…since I have a blog and all.

My love for homemade dressings started when I saw Rachael Ray whisk a vinaigrette together in less than a minute with only olive oil, balsamic vinegar, basil and salt and pepper.  I decided to try it with my cute little hot cocoa whisk (which subsequently became my dressing whisk) and have been making homemade dressing ever since.   This dressing is great to make if, like me, you want to get rid of MSG from your diet which has been linked to migraines.  It’s not exactly paleo because it has buttermilk and sour cream.  Perhaps someday I’ll experiment with a paleo version.

This dressing is easy to make for a crowd and is great on salads (obviously), but we’ve also enjoyed it in with shredded BBQ chicken, in pasta salad, on eggs, pizza and most frequently as the mayo and seasoning for chicken salad.

I use the food processor to mince up the garlic, onion and cilantro, but using a knife is just as effective.

Here’s the recipe:

Garlic Ranch Dressing

Ingredients (for 2 ½ cups)

  • ½ cup mayonnaise
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • ¾ cup buttermilk
  • 3 green onions, finely minced
  • 1 bunch cilantro,  finely minced
  • 4 cloves garlic, finely minced
  • ½ tsp. salt
  • ½ tsp. ground pepper

Directions

Whisk together mayonnaise, sour cream and buttermilk until smooth.  Add in everything else and stir to combine.

Leave a Reply

