Coconut Flour Pancakes with Peach Syrup

IMG_0538

I’ve been giving up my dear friends, the delicious carbs from grain products because there is so little nutrition in the processed version and the little carby sugars mess with my blood sugar levels giving me headaches. My headaches have gotten so much better, and I’ve started to feel much more alert mentally, something I hadn’t anticipated, but it’s a great side-benefit. But, I still crave cakes, bread, pancakes and other wheat flour-filled goodies.

I tried my hand at making some dinner rolls with coconut flour. They were disgusting. Even with gobs of butter and even some honey, I couldn’t eat it. So bad that I’m not even willing to try making them again with another recipe. I just have an idea in my head about what dinner rolls should taste like and there is really no way I can accept anything less, so I think I’ll have to save the real thing for very special occasions.

I did, however, find some success with coconut flour pancakes. I made two large pancakes from this recipe. I hope all my paleo, primal and real foodie friends will enjoy this! If you make them, make sure not to flip too early or else this might happen:

IMG_0536

Coconut Pancakes Recipe (adapted from this recipe)

  • 4 pastured eggs
  • 1/4 cup coconut milk (from a can, not a box)
  • 1/4 cup coconut flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • Coconut oil for frying

Directions

  1. Whisk the eggs and coconut milk until fluffy in a large bowl. Mix in the coconut flour, cinnamon and baking soda with a wooden spoon. Let rest for a few minutes.
  2. Meanwhile, heat a skillet to medium-high heat and add enough coconut oil to cover the bottom.
  3. When the oil is hot, add half the batter to the skillet. Cook for about five minutes. If you have a slightly uneven stove (like I do), make sure to swirl the oil around the pancake to make sure the pancake does not stick. You will know it is time to the flip when the edges get golden brown. Loosen the pancake with a spatula (it will stick more than a regular pancake would), and check the amount of oils left in the pan. Be ready to add more coconut oil if there is not enough oil to cover the bottom of the pan. Flip the pancake and cook another three to five minutes or until the edges are golden brown.
  4. Make your second pancake in the same way, making sure to add coconut oil to the pan as needed.
  5. Serve with peach syrup (recipe below) and bacon.

IMG_0535 IMG_0537

Peach Syrup Recipe (I made it up myself…though I think anyone could have!)

  • two peaches, diced
  • 1 tablespoon grade B maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup water

Directions

Place all ingredients in a small saucepan and heat on medium. Let simmer for about thirty minutes, stirring occasionally and adding water if it gets to thick.

Leave a Reply

