Big Batch of Rosemary Meatballs

DSCN1170

Mmm…meatballs…that’s what I thought as I wondered what I should make for quick meals to stash in the freezer. After looking through a few recipes, I decided to concoct my own using my rosemary plant (that I have not yet killed after two weeks).

DSCN1189[1]

I have made a similar recipe before, so I knew that I could exactly twenty meatballs from one pound of ground beef with 3/4 cup of almond flour (trying to stay away from carbs, so I’ve been using almond flour in place of bread crumbs).

I used rosemary, lemon zest, parsley and garlic for a zesty flavor.

DSCN1157

Eggs, almond flour and parmesan go in to hold the meatballs together.

DSCN1161

Lastly, the ground beef (grass-fed for CLA) and some sea salt and pepper are added in.

DSCN1162

I used my hands to mix it all together and used my little one and a half tablespoon cookie scoop (great size for properly sized cookies, by the way).

DSCN1164  DSCN1167

And, I bake them for just twenty minutes. Very easy and ready for several different applications.

DSCN1169  DSCN1170

Here’s the recipe:

Rosemary Lemon Meatballs

Ingredients

Big handful of Italian parsley, finely chopped

1 tablespoon finely chopped rosemary

The zest of 2 lemons

3 large cloves of garlic, minced

2 eggs

¾ cup almond flour

½ cup parmesan

2 lb. Ground Beef

1 teaspoon sea salt

½ teaspoon pepper

Directions

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 350.
  2. In a large bowl, combine the parsley, rosemary, lemon zest and garlic.  Add in the eggs and beat lightly.  Add almond flour and parmesan.  Mix thoroughly.
  3. Add the ground beef, salt and pepper and use your hands to mix everything together.  Be sure not to over mix.
  4. Form into equal size balls and place on a lined or greased baking sheet.  If you are using a 1 ½ tablespoon scoop, this should make about 40 meatballs.
  5. Bake for 20-22 minutes or until cooked through.  Larger meatballs will take more time.
  6. Optional: broil the meatballs for 2 minutes to brown the tops.
2 thoughts on “Big Batch of Rosemary Meatballs

Leave a Reply

