Balsamic Peaches Sundae

DSCN1186

 

Peaches finally came down in price this week, signalling the beginning of peach season.  I decided to celebrate with one of my favorite applications of peaches: a balsamic peaches sundae.

It tastes like peaches and cream with a little kick.  I’ve made grilled peaches with a balsamic reduction before, but the sweet-sour contrast was too intense for me in a dessert, so I started experimenting last summer.

I was inspired by a sundae my grandparents used to make for me when I visited them in northern California.  My grandfather had both an apricot and a  walnut tree at one time that he would harvest every year.  My grandmother made apricot jam which she would heat up and put on ice cream with toasted walnuts on top.  If you have never had freshly toasted walnuts, let me recommend that you find and consume them as soon as possible.

The concepts of the apricot and walnut sundae and the grilled peaches with balsamic reduction meld into one idea in this sundae.  It requires a little bit of cooking and cooling time before eating, but it’s worth it!  Also, make sure to use a high-quality vanilla ice cream like Hagen-Daz that has no artificial ingredients and uses sugar or honey to sweeten.  If I had my own ice-cream maker (which I hope to get in the next year), I would make my own.

DSCN1180 DSCN1182  DSCN1185

And, here’s the recipe:

Balsamic Peaches Sundae

Serves two

Ingredients

1 tablespoon butter

Two small peaches cut into one-inch pieces

1 tablespoon honey

1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar

Tiny pinch of sea salt

About a cup of vanilla ice cream (half of a Hagen-Daz pint)

Directions

  1. Melt butter over medium-high heat in a small skillet.  After the butter starts foaming, add in peaches, honey, balsamic vinegar and sea salt and bring to a simmer.  Continue to simmer for about 5-7 minutes. The peaches should give off some of their liquid, forming a syrup with the honey and balsamic vinegar and thicken slightly.
  2. Take the pan off the heat and let cool for at least ten minutes.
  3. Serve the peaches in cups over the ice cream.
Leave a Reply

